with 1 Comment

Hall of Fame | Alabama Jazz Music

This art-deco museum honors great jazz artists with ties to the state of Alabama. While furnishing educational information, the museum is also a place for entertainment. Exhibits convey the accomplishments of the likes of Nat King Cole, Duke Ellington, Lionel Hampton and Erskine Hawkins and the music that made them famous.

Within this fine musical collection, visitors travel from the beginnings of boogie woogie with Clarence "Pinetop" Smith to the jazz space journeys of Sun Ra and his Intergalactic Space Arkestra.

Check out our list of all the Musical Hall of Fames

The inductees for the Alabama Jazz Music Hall of Fame:


Charter Members of AJHoF
Frank E. Adams, Sr.
Amos F. Gordon
Erskine Hawkins
Haywood Henry
Sammy Lowe
John T. 'Fess' Whatley


Paul Bascomb
Wilbur 'Dud' Bascomb
John Bell
Jothan Callins
Charles H. Clarke
Cleveland Eaton
Johnny Grimes
Richard Harris
Jonathan Jo Jones
James H. Mitchell
Avery Parrish
Sun Ra
John C. Reed
Laura Washington


Walter H. Blythe
Arthur "Babe" Clarke
Peter F. Clarke
Jimmy Colvin
Charles Daniels
Wilson L. Driver
Jerry Grundhoefer
Calvin A. Ivory
Henry Kimbrell
Jesse Larkins
Frederick Shorty Long
Rushton Miller
Walter Miller
Fletcher Myatt
C. Julian Parrish
Hampton Reese
Alwilda C. Smith
John S. Springer, Sr.
Newman C. Terrell
Iva B. Williams


John Anderson
Henry Blankenship
Melvin H. Caswell
Richard Clarke
Victor Cunningham
Murray Harper
Jimmie Harris
Theodore Hill
George Hudson
William Johnson, III
Warren Parham
Avery Richardson
Richard Sanford
E. W. Williams
Ivory Williams


Joe Alexander
Esau Coleman
Alton Davenport
Joseph Guy
Leon Hines
George Hudson
Lovell Litton
James Powell
Sam Ranelli
Tolton Rosser
Joseph Sanford
John Santoro
Roszetta Johnson Scovil
William Stewart
Robert Summers
Ona Watson 


Hooper T. Abrams
Leroy Allen
Leatha Bell
Frank Carpenter
Paul B. Coman
LaVergne Eaton Comer
Dolly Brown Gibson
Marcellus Green
Frank Greer
Monroe Kennedy
Robert McCoy
Neil Mc Clean
H. L. Raleigh Randolph 
Charles "Bull" Simpson
Jesse Taylor


Doris Adams
Carl Atkins
Lucius Daniels
Ella Fitzgerald
Shelton Gary

James L. Lowe 
James McDaniels
Robert Moore
H. T. Raleigh Randolph
Johnny Smith
Arthur Stringer
Sam Taylor


Collins 'Bo' Berry
Edward A. Brown
Henry L. Caffey
Andrew C. Fair
Howard Funderburg
W. C. Handy
Jerome Hopkins
Everett Lawler
James L. Lowe
Willie Richardson
Lee Stanfield
Jonny Williams

Honorary 1985

Richard Arrington, Jr.
Gloria Curry
J. Garrick Hardy
Dr. C. W. Hayes
David Vann
Lewis White


Leon 'Lucky' Davis
Henry Glover
Hortense Henderson
Dr. Thomas Lyle
Mary Alice Marable
Jack Marshall
Ellis McClure
Lucky Millinder
Jerry Reed
Dinah Washington
Zelpha Wells
Harry Young


Jimmy 'Guitar' Allen
Donald Crawford
Jesse Dandy
Ted Galloway
Jerry Greene
Tommie Harris
Aldolphus Williams


Dr. Horace Carney
Roosevelt Hatcher
Attorney James Henderson
Nathaniel Miller
Robert 'Bobby' Owens
Rose Marie Rushin
Bonna Mae Perine Samuels 
Thomas Stewart


Emerson Able
Attorney John Carlton
Eddie Castleberry
Attorney Samuel Fisher
John McAphee, Jr.
Henry Pugh
J. B. Sims
Cornelius Aikens


James Reese Europe
Joseph P. Giattina
William Wise Handy
J. Earl Hensley
Nuncie LeBerte
William Lee
Irene Monroe
William Nappi
Jimmy Randolph
Evelyn Wallace


Pat Cather
Andre Ford
Ann Graham
Eric Essix
Alex Gulas
Wilbur Harden
Cliff Nation
DeWitt Shaw
Clarence 'Pinetop' Smith
James Swyne
Charles Cootie Williams 


Earlie Billups
Edward 'Duke' Ellington
Lionel Hampton
Trenton Harris
Samuel Lay
Consuela Lee


Nat 'King' Cole
John Collins


Cholly Atkins
Mary Ogletree
Willie Ruff


Jim Bell
Countess Felder
Urbie Green
Dr. Henry Panion
Hassan Ralph Williams
Bobby Smith


Victor Atkins
Jesse Champion
Foxxy Fatts
Thomas Lindsey
Johnny O'Neal


Sylvester 'Rickey' Powell
Charles Ard


Gene “Mighty Flea” Conners
Frank Davis Jr
Bart Grooms
Alvon A. “Sonny” Harris
Grover Mitchell
Steve Sample
Harry Noble Simms
Roy Yarbrough


Harry Belafonte


Mart Avant
Rick Bell
Daniel Jose Carr
Marion Evans
John Hayden*
Robert Horton*
Don Jones*
Hal Kemp*
Al Killian*
Jean Kittrell
Jack Marshall*
Gary Motley
Phelton Simmons*
Eb Swingle*
Ward Swingle*
GeorgeWashington and Fred Wesley Jr.

*Denotes posthumous induction.

One Response

  1. […] List of Hall Of Fame Inductees […]